Colin Riordan

Mr Colin Riordan is a consultant hand and plastic surgeon whose main area of practice is hand and wrist surgery including arthroscopic surgery.

Contact Details
Mr Colin Riordan is a consultant hand and plastic surgeon whose main area of practice is hand and wrist surgery including arthroscopic surgery.
Mr Riordan graduated from Trinity College Dublin in 1996. Following completion of basic surgical training he travelled to the USA to complete a research fellowship at Vanderbilt University School of Medicine. His research, which focused primarily on denervated wound healing won many awards including the Ortho McNeill Outstanding Young Investigator Award 2001, Glancy Bowl Award (Perpetual Silver Bowl) and the Gasper W. Anastasi Award.
On return to Ireland he completed his higher surgical training in Plastic, Reconstructive and Hand Surgery sitting the FRCSI(plast) examination in 2007. He then undertook further fellowships in hand and wrist surgery at the Pulvertaft Hand Unit in Derby, UK, in Malmö, Sweden and Stockholm, Sweden (Plastic Surgery).

Mr Riordan returned to Ireland in 2008 and commenced practice as a hand surgeon in Blackrock Clinic, initially joining and then taking over Mr John Varian’s hand surgery practice on his retirement.   Mr Riordan was secretary of the Irish Hand Surgery Society from 2010-2015 and continues to present and lecture at hand surgery meetings both in Ireland and internationally. He has published numerous peer review articles in the surgical literature.

Hand and Wrist Surgery  FESSH Travelling Fellowship
Malmö Centre for Hand Surgery, Malmö, Sweden
Hand and Wrist Surgery Fellowship
Pulvertaft Hand Unit, Derby, UK
Plastic Surgery Fellowship
Akademikliniken Stockholm, Sweden
Higher Surgical Training Programme in Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery
Vanderbilt University Research Fellowship
Undergraduate Training
Best Research Paper presented at the American Association of Hand Surgeons Annual Meeting, Puerto Rico, USA, January 2007.
Federation of the European Societies for Surgery of the Hand (FESSH) Travelling Fellowship/Scholar 2006
Best Research Paper presented at the Irish Hand Society Annual Meeting, Cappagh, Dublin, April 2002
Ortho McNeill Outstanding Young Investigator Award 2001.
Glancy Bowl Award (Perpetual Silver Bowl)
Gasper W. Anastasi Award

Orthopaedic Surgeons

Ray Moran Medical Director

Owen Brady

Jonathan Bunn

Neil Burke

Ann-Maria Byrne

Stefan Byrne

Noelle Cassidy

Gary Colleary

Denis Collins

Ruth Delaney

Professor Brian M Devitt

Michael Donnelly

Niall Hogan

Mark Jackson

Jim Kennedy

Pat Kiely

Paul Magill

Tom McCarthy

Johnny McKenna

Ronan McKeown

Gavin McHugh

Diarmuid Molony

Professor Cathal J Moran

Paul Moroney

Hannan Mullett

Professor Kevin Mulhall

Jacques Noel

Professor John O'Byrne

Maurice O'Flaherty

Shea (James) O'Flanagan

Professor Joseph M Queally

Keith Synnott

Mihai Vioreanu

James Walsh

Dan Withers


Michael Kelleher

Jabir Nagaria

Eoin Fenton

Nikolay Peev

Sports & Exercise Medicine Physicians

Ciaran Cosgrave

Philip E Carolan

Paul Dobbelaar

James O'Donovan

Stuart O'Flanagan

Ronan Kearney

Matthew Cosgrave

Colm McCarthy

Jamie Kearns

Maxillofacial Surgeons

Mr Padraig Ó Ceallaigh

Plastic Aesthetic and Reconstructive Surgeons

Richard Hanson

Patricia Eadie

Colin Riordan

Pain Management Physicians

Philip Hu

Kathir Tamilmani


Barry J Sheane

Catherine Sullivan


Joe Coyle

Brian Hogan

Mark Logan

Frank McGrath

Dr Oisin Flanagan

Respiratory Physicians

Rosemary O'Brien


Brendan Doyle