Ann Maria Byrne Elbow Surgeon

Ann-Maria Byrne

Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon
  • Elbow Surgery
  • Wrist Surgery
  • Hand Surgery
  • Shoulder Surgery
  • Sports Injuries
  • Joint Replacement
Ms Ann-Maria Byrne is a consultant orthopaedic surgeon and upper limb specialist.  She has a special interest in elbow, wrist and hand surgery, including open and arthroscopic surgery.
Ann-Maria graduated from the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland in 2001. During her undergraduate years, she spent time studying in surgery in the Mayo Clinic Rochester Minnesota, USA and following receiving first class honours in medicine and surgery, she was awarded the Johnston-Willis Scholarship to study in Richmond, Virginia, USA. During her postgraduate training, she completed the RCSI Irish National Training Programme in Trauma and Orthoapedics. She went on to fellowship training at the Wrightington Upper Limb Unit, UK where she was exposed to a range of upper limb problems and their surgical management. She continued her fellowship training at the Antwerp Orthopaedic Centre, Belgium where she trained in the treatment of hand, wrist and forearm injuries. She also worked there with Professor Dokter Roger van Riet, training in the management of elbow injuries, elbow arthroscopy, joint replacement and complex upper limb reconstruction in patients of all ages.
She has published several book chapters and peer review articles in the surgical literature.
• Elbow, Wrist & Hand Sports Surgery Fellowship,
Antwerp Orthopaedic Centre, Antwerp, Belgium
•  Wrightington Upper Limb Surgery Fellowship,
     Wrightington Hospital, UK
• Higher Surgical Training Programme in Trauma and Orthopaedic Surgery,
Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland
• Undergraduate Medical Training,
Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland
• FRCS (Trauma & Orth), Intercollegiate Boards of the Royal College of Surgeons
• MRCS, Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland
• MB, BAO, BCh, LRCSPI (Honours), NUI/Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland
• BA in Psychology (Honours), Trinity College Dublin
• MA (by thesis), Trinity College Dublin
• Dip LS, DIT College of Commerce, Dublin
• LGSM (Honours)
· Biomet Sports Medicine Fellowship
·  IOFAS  Best  Research Paper Award
·  1st Place Orthopaedics Final Professional Examination,  RCSI
·  Silver Medal and 1st place Behavioural Science, 1st Professional Examinations,
 · Silver Medal and 1st place International Health and Tropical Medicine, Final
       Professional Examinations, RCSI.
· Boulos Hanna Scholarship, Health Services Research Centre, RCSI
· Johnston-Willis Hospital/Bouchier-Hayes Scholarship, Richmond, Virginia, USA.
Contact Ann-Maria Byrne
Suite: Northwood Suite
Fax: +353 1 5262346