Dan Withers
Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon

Daniel Withers completed his orthopaedic surgical training in Mersey Deanery (UK) in 2014.

Contact Details

Daniel Withers completed his orthopaedic surgical training in Mersey Deanery (UK) in 2014. He has completed both a Sports Knee Fellowship at UPMC Sports Surgery Clinic and a Research Fellowship in the Orthopaedics and Sports Medicine Department, Trinity College Dublin. He also held the role of sports doctor to the Trinity College sports teams.

As part of his fellowships, he was been involved in pre-clinical trials in relation to cartilage and meniscus regeneration, as well as research into mechanisms of ACL injuries in rugby. During his fellowship at UPMC Sports Surgery Clinic, he gained considerable experience in treating large numbers of patients with all aspects of knee problems (including osteoarthritis, ligament injuries, meniscal injuries, patellofemoral disorders).

At the end of 2017, Daniel was appointed the first Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon to work alongside Ray Moran in the Ray Moran knee Clinic at SSC.

Dan specialises in the following areas of the knee:

  • Sports Knee Surgery
  • ACL Reconstruction
  • Meniscal Reconstruction
  • Knee Ligament Surgery
  • Partial Knee Replacement
  • Total Knee Replacement

Orthopaedic Surgeons

Ray Moran Medical Director

Owen Brady

Jonathan Bunn

Ann-Maria Byrne

Stefan Byrne

Noelle Cassidy

Denis Collins

Ruth Delaney

Michael Donnelly

Niall Hogan

Mark Jackson

Pat Kiely

Tom McCarthy

Gavin McHugh

Johnny McKenna

Professor Cathal J Moran

Paul Moroney

Hannan Mullett

Professor Kevin Mulhall

Jacques Noel

Shea (James) O'Flanagan

Keith Synnott

Mihai Vioreanu

James Walsh

Diarmuid Molony

Dan Withers

Ronan McKeown

Jim Kennedy

Gary Colleary

Neil Burke

Maurice O'Flaherty

Professor Joseph M Queally

Professor Brian M Devitt

Paul Magill


Michael Kelleher

Jabir Nagaria

Eoin Fenton

Nikolay Peev

Sports & Exercise Medicine Physicians

Philip E Carolan

Ciaran Cosgrave

Paul Dobbelaar

Stuart O'Flanagan

Ronan Kearney

Matthew Cosgrave

Colm McCarthy

Jamie Kearns

Maxillofacial Surgeons

Mr Padraig Ó Ceallaigh

Plastic Aesthetic and Reconstructive Surgeons

Richard Hanson

Patricia Eadie

Colin Riordan

Pain Management Physicians

Kathir Tamilmani

Philip Hu


Barry J Sheane

Catherine Sullivan

Leah Rooney


Frank McGrath

Mark Logan

Brian Hogan

Dr Oisin Flanagan

Joe Coyle

Respiratory Physicians

Rosemary O'Brien


Brendan Doyle