Dr Paul Dobbelaar Sports Surgery Clinic

Paul Dobbelaar

Consultant Sports & Exercise Medicine Physician

Paul Dobbelaar is a Sports & Exercise Physician and Human Movement Scientist from the Netherlands. He graduated as MSc in Human Movement Science from Maastricht University in 1990 with a Master thesis in altitude physiology.


In 1995 he completed his medical training at Maastricht University. Dr Dobbelaar trained as Sports Physician from 1996 until 2000 in Veldhoven, Heerlen and at the Dutch National Sports Centre Papendal. Dr Dobbelaar has worked in his own sport medical practice in the South of the Netherlands since 2005. He has a broad experience in elite sports having worked as team doctor to the Dutch Climbing and Alpine Club, the Royal Dutch Cycling Union and the Dutch Triathlon Federation as well as Dutch Basketball championship winning team EBBC/Libertel Dolphins.


He was Head of the Medical Staff of the first professional football club in the Netherlands, Fortuna Sittard from 2005-2010. Dr Dobbelaar has a special interest in overuse sports injuries and exercise physiology, especially in relation to fatigue and diminished exercise capacity.

Contact Paul Dobbelaar
Suite: SSC Sports Medicine
Fax: 01 526 2046