Philip E Carolan
Sports & Exercise Medicine Physician
Contact Details

Treatment and management of acute chronic sports injuries, musculoskeletal injuries, Groin & tendon injuries

• Graduated from Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland in 1996 and obtained a Fellowship in Sports & Exercise Medicine from RCPI & RCSI in 2003 and was elected Fellow of the Faculty of Sports & Exercise Medicine UK in 2008.
• Dean of the Faculty of Sports & Exercise Medicine RCPI & RCSI from November 2008 to November 2011. A Faculty board member since 2006 and has chaired a number of Faculty committees such as the Accreditation, MSK moodle and examination committees.
• Past member of the Medical Scientific & Welfare Committee of the GAA (Gaelic Athletic Association) and Chairman of the Gaelic Games Doctor’s Association.  He was involved in the GAA pilot study on cardiac screening of the athlete.

• Medical Director of the Cavan County Board GAA.
• Team doctor with the Cavan Senior and Under 21’s GAA teams and set up the medical care and treatment protocols for all teams involved in the Cavan County setup.
• Team doctor with the Ulster Railway cup team from 2001 to 2006.
• Trainer on the new Sports Immediate Care course, which has been developed to deal with acute care of the injured athlete.
• On the Irish Health Foundation Subcommittee on Sudden Cardiac death in Sport and is a member of the Ankylosing Spondylitis Awareness Council of Ireland.

Orthopaedic Surgeons

Ray Moran Medical Director

Owen Brady

Jonathan Bunn

Neil Burke

Ann-Maria Byrne

Stefan Byrne

Noelle Cassidy

Gary Colleary

Denis Collins

Ruth Delaney

Professor Brian M Devitt

Michael Donnelly

Niall Hogan

Mark Jackson

Jim Kennedy

Pat Kiely

Paul Magill

Tom McCarthy

Johnny McKenna

Ronan McKeown

Gavin McHugh

Diarmuid Molony

Professor Cathal J Moran

Paul Moroney

Hannan Mullett

Professor Kevin Mulhall

Jacques Noel

Maurice O'Flaherty

Shea (James) O'Flanagan

Professor Joseph M Queally

Keith Synnott

Mihai Vioreanu

James Walsh

Dan Withers


Michael Kelleher

Jabir Nagaria

Eoin Fenton

Nikolay Peev

Sports & Exercise Medicine Physicians

Ciaran Cosgrave

Philip E Carolan

Paul Dobbelaar

Stuart O'Flanagan

Ronan Kearney

Matthew Cosgrave

Colm McCarthy

Jamie Kearns

Maxillofacial Surgeons

Mr Padraig Ó Ceallaigh

Plastic Aesthetic and Reconstructive Surgeons

Richard Hanson

Patricia Eadie

Colin Riordan

Pain Management Physicians

Philip Hu

Kathir Tamilmani


Leah Rooney

Barry J Sheane

Catherine Sullivan


Joe Coyle

Brian Hogan

Mark Logan

Frank McGrath

Dr Oisin Flanagan

Respiratory Physicians

Rosemary O'Brien


Brendan Doyle